Facebook

Saturday, 19 May 2018

Five Years From Now by Paige Toon



Nell and Van meet as children when their parents fall in love, but soon they are forced worlds apart.

Five years later, they find each other.  Their bond is rekindled and new feelings take hold, but once again they must separate.
 
For the next two decades, fate brings Nell and Van together every five years, as life and circumstance continue to divide them.

Will they ever find true happiness?
And will it be together?


I have really struggled to write a review for Five Years From Now by Paige Toon as it is quite simply a remarkably tender read that I absolutely loved, so I want to shout about it from the roof tops but in the same breath I don’t want to give anything away.
The storyline follows Nell and Van from their first meeting at 5 years old after their parents fall in love and move in together. Although it was a frosty start the pair soon become inseparable until years later a terrible event pulls the two apart.
Five years later the pair are reunited and they have a lot of catching up to do and there are heightened feelings added to the mix but again they are forced apart.
Nell and Van end up reuniting every 5 years through life’s ups and downs but will they always be torn apart.
This is my favourite book of the year so far. I can not remember the last book I read where the characters felt so life like to me and the storyline so believable, raw and honest. I have only ever cried at two previous books and that was some time ago but this book touched me you could tell the author had poured such emotion into this storyline.
The book begins on quite a light hearted note with Nell and Van only 5 years old so there is that innocence and cheekiness from the characters and a little humour to especially when deciding on which bunk bed to have I did have a little chuckle at the reasoning behind it!
As the storyline progresses the characters begin to age we watch them blossom into respectful teens and adults but they have a lot of emotions going on that they question and us as a reader question but the author tackles these thoughts in the storyline through other characters. Nell and Van are such loveable and honest characters who care for each other but also care about the thoughts and feelings of those around them too.
The chapters are broken into 5 year intervals and the five years is significant as a question pops up a couple of times about how your life was 5 years ago and how your life will be five years from now and this really got me looking back and forward in my life too so it is a thought provoking read.
I love that it wasn’t a predictable read and this is why I want to be so careful with what I mention about the storyline as this was why it was such an emotive and unexpectant read as I really was going in with no expectations which made every chapter have an impact on me.
This has definitely taken the top spot of Paige Toon’s books and it is the best book I have read so far this year. A sincere, honest and heart breaking romantic read that I wish I could read for the first time all over again. I really couldn’t leave Nell and Van behind and although I tried to read a few other books after I couldn’t settle as I was longing to be back with the pair and so I did just that and went back and read it again for a second time, something I have never done!





Thursday, 17 May 2018

The Wish by Alex Brown



Sam Morgan knows he messed up with his wife Chrissie and daughter Holly – he wasn’t there when they needed him most, but now he’ll do anything to put his family back together again. Until then, he's back living in the picture-postcard village of Tindledale.
Jude Darling is coming home for good this time. She's taking over the antique shop in Tindledale, the place where she grew up and she's going to make sure she's there for her friend, Chrissie, and Goddaughter, Holly. They certainly need her right now.
As for Holly, there's only one thing she wants and it's not the sort of thing you can buy in a shop. She might be thirteen years old, but Holly still believes in wishes, and perhaps if she wishes hard enough, this one might come true…



Alex Brown is back and is whisking us back to the idyllic village of Tindledale in her latest release The Wish. The cover of this book is stunning and definitely my favourite cover of Alex’s books.
Sam has worked away from home for a long time now but it now looks like it could have cost him his marriage, determined to save his marriage her returns home to his wife Chrissie and his teenage daughter Holly but is it too little too late?
Holly only wants one thing for her Birthday and that is for her Mum and Dad to get back together but her mum is ruining everything.
Chrissie’s best friend Jude has been living in LA and has decided it is time to return to her roots in Tindledale to be there for her best friend and her dad Tony as well as opening up her own Antiques shop in the village.
I never tire of my visits to Tindledale in Alex Brown’s novels and I love how with each book we get a brief glimpse or mention at how the other characters from previous books are doing but the books are all stand alone’s although secretly when recommending to friends I do tell them to read them in publication order as the books are all such enjoyable and entertaining reads I want everyone to read them all and full in love with the characters and village Alex Brown creates.
The Wish has four central characters this time and this worked really well in this book as we get to hear direct from each character their thoughts and feelings on the situations that involve them all and it just goes to show a lot of things can be resolved if people were honest about their feelings and actually voiced their thoughts.
I loved all of the characters in this book and I wanted everyone to get their happy ending. Holly has diabetes and the concerns from family members, the strain it has on both Holly and her family and friends is portrayed really well in this book, this condition is on the rise and I think it is good to bring awareness of the effects of living with the condition.
The Wish is pure escapism with romance, friendship and long kept secrets that will leave you wanting to wrap the characters up in cotton wool. I loved this book and feel at a loss having to leave the characters and the village I adore behind. I do hope Alex takes us back again soon.





Paperback                 Kindle

Tuesday, 15 May 2018

You, Me, Everything by Catherine Isaac


Today it is my stop on the blog tour for You, Me, Everything by Catherine Isaac and I am thrilled to finally be able to share with you my review for this beautiful little gem of a book.

REVIEW


You, Me, Everything is a book that will leave a lasting mark on your heart. It is so beautifully written and such an honest and realistic read. Jess is our main character and we are first introduced to her as she gives birth to a beautiful baby boy but her boyfriend Adam was not ready for this kind of responsibility and so Jess, with the help of her loving mother and father, raised little William as a single parent. Fast forward ten years and Jess is taking the leap to travel with William to spend time with Adam in the glorious setting of the Chateau de Roussignol in France. Jess knows how important family is and she is keen to try and get a relationship flowing between her son and his dad.
This is such an addictive read that had me greedily turning the pages eager to watch events unfold and in a matter of hours I had devoured the whole book and then sat absolutely bereft that I had finished and would be leaving my new friends behind.
I was taken on a rollercoaster of emotions reading You, Me, Everything and the author has clearly undertaken a lot of research on Huntington disease and I hope a lot of readers will take away more knowledge and awareness on the illness. The way the author weaved the subject of the disease into the storyline was so tenderly done but also so eye opening and heartbreaking.
I think the right decision was made to release this book under a different name as Jane Costello is known and loved for her light humorous reads and You Me and Everything has an entirely different feel to it with bringing depth to the storyline and still having much loved relatable characters who touch your heart. Having said this I could still hear the authors natural witty flair being voiced through little William and this brought a little light at times to the book.
I am not overly fond of large roles for children in books usually because of the annoying winey repetitive dialogue but with William I would say he is the first child character I have enjoyed reading and actually looked forward to him being around. At times he broke my heart and at times he had me chuckling away, I was desperate for him to form a bond with his father.
This book is a true beauty that has had the authors heart and soul poured onto every page, full of emotion and tackling grief, difficulties of parenthood and relationships there is everything needed to keep you hooked but keep the tissues near by and be prepare the family for a lot of hugs afterwards as it makes you want to keep the ones you love most close.






Sunday, 13 May 2018

Giveaway 2!


Giveaway Number 2


Thank you to all of you who entered the first giveaway to celebrate the blog reaching 7 years! 
Today Giveaway number 2 is ready and up for grabs this time is a paperback copy of Nineteen Letters by Jodi Perry and a box of notecards by Johanna Basford.

My review for this book will be live on the blog next week too so keep a look out.
This giveaway is open Internationally.

GOOD LUCK!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, 8 May 2018

Celebrating 7 Years of Rea Book Reviews!


Rea Book Reviews is 7 Years Old Today!

Thank you so much for to all of you who take the time to read and share my reviews.
One of the best things to come out of running this blog over the years is the amount of readers I 
get to meet both online and in person with the same interests as me.

I would also like to say a big thank you to all of the talented authors who have sent me their books to read, reading is such a big part of my life and I know how much even just the shortest review can help you all after all the time, sweat and tears that goes into each and every one of your books.

Lastly I would like to thank all of the wonderful publishers I have worked with over this past year, as many of you know I stepped away from my business and also this year from the only career I have known so I have been in limbo recently however it has allowed me to focus more on my blog again. I especially would like to thank SJ from Books and the City you have been a diamond.

The last year has seen me reach over 7700 twitter followers and I have now also joined the world of Instagram ( haha I still need to get to grips with this!)
For those of you who follow on Facebook I do apologise for my absence on there this year I will try to get back on track there soon.

So once again I would like to say a HUGE thank you to you all as with out you all this tiny little piece of the blogosphere would not be here.

xXx

To Say Thank you I will have 7 small giveaways appearing throughout the week for books that I have loved so far this year and these are open Internationally ( just remember over sea winners to be patient with delivery times!) 

The first giveaway is for a Hardback copy of The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle. This book is a fabulous read and is by FAR Mike Gayle's best book. If you missed the review then just click HERE

GIVEAWAY 1

GOOD LUCK!







a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saturday, 28 April 2018

Hetty's Farmhouse Bakery by Cathy Bramley



Thirty-two-year-old Hetty Greengrass is the star around which the rest of her family orbits. Marriage, motherhood and helping Dan run Sunnybank Farm have certainlykept her hands full for the last twelve years. But when her daughter Poppy has to choose her inspiration for a school project and picks her aunt, not her mum, Hetty is left full of self-doubt.
Hetty’s always been generous with her time and until now, her biggest talent – baking deliciously moreish shortcrust pastry pies – has been limited to charity work and the village fete. But taking part in a competition run by Cumbria’s Finest to find the very best produce from the region might be just the thing to make her daughter proud . . . and reclaim something for herself.
Except that life isn’t as simple as producing the perfect pie. Changing the status quo isn’t easy – and with cracks appearing in her marriage and shocking secrets coming to light, Hetty must decide where her priorities really lie . . .
I have read all of Cathy Bramley’s previous books so I was looking forward to reading Hetty’s Farmhouse Bakery.
Hetty and Dan were childhood sweethearts who have sacrificed their dreams through their younger years due to unfortunate circumstances. They run their family farm and have a beautiful daughter Poppy who looks set to follow in their footsteps. When an opportunity arises for Hetty to put to use her amazing skills in pie baking she feels like she finally has something that she can feel proud of and something that she can do for herself but it will mean sacrificing time spent on the farm and this does not please those around her.
This was another enjoyable book by Cathy Bramley with a likeable heroine although at numerous points during the book I just wanted to shake Hetty and say just go for it! I did find Dan quite selfish and infuriating at times and I never quite took to him. Hetty was such a caring woman who puts everyone else before her own wants and needs, she really deserved to have the love, support and encouragement from the characters.
I loved Poppy she was a fun, strong willed character who knew what she wanted and would not be swayed and she would ensure everyone knows her intentions too!
I do not wish to give anything away but there is a revelation which I did see coming but the way Hetty deals with this is remarkable and you can’t help but think how you would act if you found yourself in the same situation, I am pretty sure my reaction wouldn’t be quite like Hetty’s but I have to admire her.
This is a wonderful read that will have you dribbling over the delicious varieties of pies created, screaming at Dan, gasping at shocking events and wanting to give Hetty the biggest hug possible.


Kindle                     Paperback

Sunday, 15 April 2018

The Man I Think I Know by Mike Gayle



Ever since The Incident, James DeWitt has stayed on the safe side.
He likes to know what happens next.
Danny Allen is not on the safe side. He is more past the point of no return.
The past is about to catch up with both of them in a way that which will change their lives forever, unexpectedly.
But redemption can come in the most unlikely ways.

I have read many of Mike Gayle’s novels but having just finished reading his latest release The Man I Think I Know it is easy for me to say that this book is by far his best book yet and will be a book that everyone will be talking about.
The storyline is told by James and Danny who both used to go to the same school but were more in competition with each other than friends. Being at such a thought after school the lads were destined for big things but for them both life has thrown life changing events their way which has changed their paths.
After an accident leaves James with a brain injury he has lived back home with his parents but when they are surprised with a break away there is no one to look after him so he has to go to a respite home. The last person he expects to see working there is Danny Allen from school.
This was such an addictive read that I was desperate to get back to at every available chance. Both Danny and James were so well developed that it soon felt like I was hearing from friends and I was rooting for them the whole way through.
The friendship that quickly forms between James and Danny felt so honest with James beginning to get some kind of independent life and confidence back with the help and support of Danny and little does he realise at the time how much James is helping him in return too.
Mike Gayle writes James character perfectly and delicately giving us an insight into someone living with ABI, the effects it has on their friends and family as well as on the sufferer’s day to day life. The feeling of wanting others to know that although they have changed in some aspects in others they are still very much the person they were before quite capable of cracking a joke. This book will bring great awareness to ABI in a wonderful way with humour and emotion that will touch each readers heart and stay in their mind for a long time yet.
The storyline really gets you thinking that life is too short and you never know what is around the corner so you have to grab life with both hands and make the most of every day. I urge you all to read this book and I can guarantee you will full in love with both James and Danny.





Kindle                     Hardback
SITE DESIGNED BY PRETTYWILDTHINGS